Industrialised country vaccine industry

The GAVI Alliance Board includes representation from the vaccine industry of industrialised countries to ensure that its global expertise furthers the development and distribution of new and under-used vaccines.

The industrialised country vaccine industry is currently represented on the GAVI Alliance Board by:

GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals
Board Member: Mr. Jean Stéphenne, President and General Manager
Term of Office: June 2008 to May 2011

FIIM IFPMA logoGlaxoSmithKline Biologicals is a member of the International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Associations (IFPMA). Board members representing the industrialised countries' vaccine industry always come from the IFPMA which represents more than 55 national industry associations.

IFPMA members are all major global research-based pharmaceutical and vaccine companies, based in both developed and developing countries.

Important partners in the Alliance

Through the GAVI Alliance, IFPMA members address ways to accelerate the development and introduction of new vaccines specifically needed by developing countries, to address diseases for which there is currently no vaccine, and to offer improved protection against others. In cooperation with their GAVI partners, they work to ensure accessibility to vaccines for all the world’s children with a particular focus on the poorest people and countries.

The vaccine-producing members of the IFPMA have a long-standing legacy of working with international public health agencies to ensure the enhancement of health for children globally, through immunisation. Those specifically involved with GAVI produce the greatest share of the global vaccine supply. They are:

Former Board Members

Wyeth-Ayerst Global Pharmaceuticals
Board Member: Mr Geno Germano, Executive Vice President and General Manager, Wyeth Vaccines
Term of Office: January 2002 to December 2003

Chiron Vaccines
Board Member: Mr John Lambert
Term of Office: January 2004 to March 2005

Merck Vaccines
Board Member: Ms. Margret McGlynn, President
Term of Office: April 2005 to May 2008