Map | A Partnership for Children's Health Search:  Advanced Search
Home General Information Country Support Board Task Forces Resources Media Center
About the Board Last Board Meeting Members Board Reports EC reports Private Access
Printer-friendly format

Quick Reference:

What is GAVI?

Fact sheets


Board Documents


Press Releases

Immunization Information

Immunization Forum
Latest Issue

GAVI Update



November 2005

Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization

Board Membership

Following is the full list of 12 rotating members of the GAVI Board, showing the constituencies, respective terms of office, and the individual representing the institution. Dr Lee Jong-wook, Director-General of WHO is chair.

Constituency Member
Term of Office *
Represented by

Developing country government

Jan '05 - Dec '07

Prof. Dorothée A. Kinde-Gazard, Minister of Public Health

Jan '05 - Dec '07

Prof. Eng Huot, Secretary of State for Health

Jan '05 - Dec '07

Major Courage Quarshiga, Minister of Health

Jan '04 - Dec '06

Dr Khandaker Mossarraf Hossain, Minister for Health and Family Welfare

Industrialized country government

Jan '05 - Dec '07

Dr Sigrun Mogedal, Norad Senior Executive Adviser
Jul '03 - Jun '06
Mrs Brigitte Girardin, Minister delegate for Cooperation, Development and Francophony
Jan '04 - Dec '06
Ms Annika Bjurner Söder, State Secretary

Technical health institute

Health Canada
Jan '04 - Dec '06
Dr Arlene King, Director, Immunization and Respiratory Infections Division
Industrialized country vaccine industry Merck Vaccines
Apr '05 - May '08
Dr Adel A. F. Mahmoud, President

Developing country vaccine industry

Bio-Manguinhos/Fiocruz, Brazil
Jan '05 - Dec '07
Dr Akira Homma, Director

Nongovernmental organization (NGO)

International Pediatric Association (IPA)
Jan '05 - Dec '07

Dr Adenike Grange, IPA president

Research institute

University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Jul '03 - Jun '06
Prof. Jan Roland Holmgren, Head of the Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology

*At its July 2003 meeting the Board approved the extension of rotating Board member terms from two to three years, in order to allow rotating members to fully build their constituencies and contribute to the GAVI Board. All rotating members whose terms started later than June 2003 will serve for three years.

Following is the list of the 5 renewable members of the GAVI Board:

Agency Represented by
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Dr David Fleming, Director, Global Health Strategies
UNICEF Ms Ann M. Veneman, Executive Director [Chair]
Mr Kul Gautam, Deputy Executive Director
The World Bank Group Mr Paul D. Wolfowitz, President [ex officio member]
Dr Jean-Louis Sarbib, Senior Vice President, Human Development
WHO Dr Lee Jong-wook, Director-General [ex officio member]
Dr Joy Phumaphi, Assistant Director-General for Family and Community Health (FCH)
The Vaccine Fund vacant



[ star_int ]   Contact us | Guestbook | Copyrights | Illustrated site